Crucified

“I have been crucified with Christ, it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself for me.” -Galatians 2:20

This verse is one of my favorites!  I wouldn’t have it tattooed on my foot if it didn’t mean  something to me, but sometimes, we don’t always look super deep into scripture.  I am doing a Beth Moore study about the Fruit of the Spirit and Galatians.  A couple days ago the lesson was on Galatians 2, specifically on verse 20.  I was excited because digging deeper is always fun, especially with a verse that means so much to me.   Doing this lesson, I realized that I need to take this verse more seriously than I already to.

Look at the word Crucified.  What does that mean to you?  Last year I heard someone in a talk discuss crucifixion and the horrors of it, but how often do we cringe when someone breaks a bone, but hear that Christ was crucified and don’t even think twice about it?  I am guilty as I am sure many people are.

So using what I learned from Beth Moore, here are 10 Characteristics of the Crucified Life – digging deeper into what it means to identify with Christ in his death.

1. Few will understand

-John 16:5-18

2. You must abandon your own will and your own struggle

-Matthew 26:36-46

3. Your intimate spiritual companions will be few

-Matthew 26:56

Few will choose to walk the same road with you and be there for you through everything.

4. Intense times of aloneness with God are required

-Matthew 26:36-39

Jesus prayed alone

5. You will be constantly on the witness stand

-Matthew 26:57-67

-1 Peter 3:15-16

6. You must go “outside the camp”

-Hebrews 13:12-14

7. There will be times when your dignity is forfeited.

-Matthew 27:27-31

8. You must forego your rights.

-Matthew 27:32-44

9. You must accept that death is painful.

-Matthew 27:34, 48

10. Because He was forsaken, you never will be

-Matthew 27:45-46

-Romans 8:38-39

-Hebrews 13:5

Leave a Reply

