4ths of the Past

The Fourth of July has never been a big celebration holiday for me and my family.  When I was younger my aunt had a neighbor that would get a permit to set off some of the big fireworks and we would watch them some years, but it was not a big deal.  As I got older it seemed like I was never around on the fourth.  Not on purpose, but some how the camps I went to and trips I took always happened then.  Here are some of my July Fourth memories.

As a very little kid – like 6 and under I would go down to the Bay in CB, OR and watch the fireworks with my dad from the train tracks.  Oh how I miss living near the water!

After Sophomore Year of High School I was selected to be a part of the Lions Club All-State Band.  We spent several days in Murray practicing before hitting the road in a couple buses.  We were on our way to New England. Boston to be exact.  We were marching in the Lions Club International Parade.  This parade happens every year in different places.  This parade is one of the largest in the world.  It was so awesome to march in front of crowds from all over the world playing “My Old Kentucky Home” and hearing people from China, Europe, the States, and all over sing along with our playing.  The Fourth of July was the day we left Boston and we had stopped in Dayton, OH and watched fireworks on the television from our hotel lobby.

After Junior Year of High School I was at the Governor’s Scholar Program at Morehead State University.  It rained on the fourth that year and we didn’t really get to watch the fireworks.  We ended up in the gym watching a movie and eating ice cream (i think).  It was a fun and different way to spend the day!

After Sophomore Year of College I was about intern with LHBC’s student ministry and was asked to go to Baltimore, MD to chaperone a high school mission trip.  This was probably the most entertaining and crazy Independence Day that I have ever had.  We drove to Baltimore on the 3rd and had a “free day” on the 4th, before starting to work with the Village Church on the 5th.  So we planned our free day to be spent in our nation’s capital.  We left in the morning and rode the Subway to D.C. where we went to the capitol building, the air and space museum, walked around, and had a ton of fun fighting the HUGE crowds (enter sarcasm).  It was crazy!!  We were staying for the fireworks and then getting back on the subway back to Baltimore.  And here is where things get kinda crazy. We watched the fireworks from the street near the White House and then headed to the nearest subway entrance.  We got underground and a nice man gave us directions, but either he didn’t really know what he was talking about or thought we were heading somewhere else, because he told us to get on a train headed the opposite direction of Baltimore.  Once we realized we were on the wrong train we planned to get off at the next stop.  From here the chaos ensued.  Our group of about 20 split up into 4 smaller groups, and not on purpose and to make it all better, one group didn’t have an adult with it, because one of our groups included me, the other female chaperone, and one student. Oh yeah, and I had everyone’s subway passes (so that none of the students would lose them), and I was the last one to get back to the station in Baltimore, which meant no one else in the groups that got back close to an hour before me couldn’t get out of the subway station.  Crazy crazy day and I have vowed never to take students to D.C. on July 4th.  Especially when it was my first time there!

Summer after Junior Year of College I spent the fourth with my family in Indy celebrating the wedding of my aunt.  She had gotten married on an island somewhere and then came back and we had the reception on July 4th.  This was the one weekend that I spent with my family because the 4 weeks prior I had been with my Acts 1:8 team and when I got back I was headed out to Haiti for a few weeks.  There were no fireworks for this kid that year.

And now for my plans this year…

This Year I am spending the morning/early afternoon relaxing at home with my two dogs.  I have been blogging like a crazy person, watching the marathons of OTH and Cake Boss, and just enjoying the time off from work.  Later I am going to celebrate with EBrew and her family plus a couple of our friends.  I am beyond excited because I haven’t seen EBrew since June 1st of last year when I left for 1:8 and right before she left to live in Honduras.  There was no question in my mind when she asked me to spend this time with her family!

 

Well that is what July Fourth has looked like in my life.  Do you have any fun stories from July Fourth Celebrations?

Leave a Reply

