Chili & Cornbread

So since my accident on Monday (to be posted about soon) I have been at my parents house recovering and waiting on insurance stuff before heading back to work.  I have had lots of free time with  no car and all and in that free time I have been looking at lots of different recipes that I want to try in the future.  So today I decided to try out a couple, while in turn making my parents lunch.  Here are the recipes I tried today – White Chili & Skillet Cornbread.  I took basic recipes and made them my own.  I wish I had taken pictures or that I could let you try a bite, because they were oh so yummy!

 

White Bean Chili

Ingredients

2 containers Chicken Broth

2 cans Cannellini Beans – drained

6 tbsp butter

1-1/4 cup white onion – diced

2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, grilled & shredded

2 tbsp ground cumin

2 tbsp dried oregano

3 tsp ground black pepper

dash crushed red pepper

 

3 cans chilies

2 tbsp minced garlic

Directions

-Place your beans and broth into a large sauce pan and bring to a boil over high heat.

-In a medium saucepan, heat the butter over medium heat.  Add your garlic, onion & chilies and saute for 5 minutes.

-Add chili mixture to beans along with your spices.  Lower heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally for about an hour.

Serve warm with sour cream and shredded cheese if desired.

 

Skillet Cornbread

Ingredients

2 boxes Jiffy corn muffin mix

1 egg

1 cup sour cream

1 can cream corn

3 tbsp butter

Instructions

-Place butter in cast iron skillet and place in oven while preheating to 375 degrees.

-Meanwhile, mix all other ingredients in a medium sized bowl.

-When oven is ready, remove skillet and add cornbread mixture on top of melted butter.  Replace pan to oven and bake for 30-35 minutes.

Serve warm.

Goes great with white chili, regular chili, soup beans, or just warm with butter.

 

Hope you all enjoy these dishes!  Update on life to come soon!

Leave a Reply

