In the blink of an eye

Last Monday started off as a pretty normal day.  I spent Sunday night at my parents house, after a wonderful weekend in Bowling Green, before heading back to Madison County for meetings and stuff for work.  Monday morning I woke up, got dressed, loaded up my car, and Baylie and I were on our way to Berea.  Little did we know that in minutes we would no longer be on our way to Berea.

I was 5 minutes from my parents house when all of a sudden I was hanging from my seat belt with the passenger side of my car laying on the creek rock below.  I managed to unbuckle myself  and climb out my rear window that had completely fallen out.  Before I had managed to get out of my car, a couple guys were there to help me out.  I was completely confused and had no idea what was going on.  Once I was out of the car, I realized that Baylie was missing.  We looked and called for her, but she was no where to be found.  After I got out of my car, I managed to call my mom and tell her that I had been in a wreck.  Most everything surrounding that time is a blur.  Once the guys who had stopped to help and I had climbed up to the road, the ems and police were arriving on scene.  I was completely shaken up, and trying to figure out what had happened.

The EMS looked me over and all I had was a cut on my foot with glass embedded into it, thankfully.  They kept saying how surprised they were and normally pulling onto a scene like this they expected severe injuries or death.  It was scary hearing them say that, but made me thank God even more.

The rest of the day was a blur, my mom took me to the hospital where they xrayed my foot, removed the glass, and put me on some muscle relaxers.  Then we went to the wrecker place to get my stuff out of the car, before heading home.  I slept most of the rest of the day away.

It is crazy how in the blink of an eye, my entire day and life changed.  It’s almost been a week and I have no idea how to truly put into words how I feel and how I felt.  I am so thankful to be alive, especially when everyone says I shouldn’t have made it out of my car walking.  The Lord has a plan for my life and I know he isn’t finished with me yet.

 

Here are some pictures of my car after the wreck and trust me when I say it looks even worse in person.

My car in the creek. 20 feet down from the roadway.

Crushed front end and missing front tire

Completely broken out rear window

Smashed and glass completely broken out passenger side

 

 

Leave a Reply

