My Education

Well it has been a year since I graduated college at Western Kentucky University.  I can hardly believe it!  In some ways it seems like yesterday and in others it seems like years ago.  I loved my time at WKU and feel very blessed to have been given the opportunity of a college education.  Not only do I feel blessed to have a college education, but any education at all.  I think about the world and how many girls and many people in general have not had the same opportunities that I have had and I thank God for what he has allowed me to have.

Although my education to this point in life ended with WKU (not counting my one semester of seminary), it did not start there and that probably won’t be the end of it.  My education started way back when I was little with my parents, but also with the myriad of schools that I attended, starting with Noah’s Ark, then on to WCES, BES, St. Gregory, FES, and then WCHS.  To think that the first 5 in that list were all by the time I was in second grade.  Even though I was only at some of them a short time, I owe a lot to the teachers and staff at each and every one of these schools for who I am today.

I have always valued my education and my dream and wish on every birthday candle for about 12 years was to be able to graduate college and a year ago I made that happen.  Such a sweet experience!  I am so grateful for the opportunity and the fulfillment of that dream.

One question I have asked myself is given the chance, what is one thing I wish I could go back and change about my education?  This is a hard one, because all in all I’ve had a great education, but I think if I was going to change something, it would be to have gone to a more challenging high school where I would have been even more challenged and also I would have applied myself more in college.  Even though those are things that I would change, I really at this moment don’t even think I would do that.  My education was great and exactly what the Lord had planned for me and changing something would be like changing His plan.

So to all the teachers, principals, librarians, cafeteria workers, aids, secretaries, superintendents, and other school employees at Noah’s Ark, Washington Co. Elementary, Bardstown Elementary, St. Gregory, Fredericktown, Washington Co. High and Western Kentucky, thank you so much for all that you do in allowing me and others to gain an education and a window to the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

