Thankfully November 4

Today has been a good day!  I started off by hanging around the house, fixing a bacon wrapped pork meatloaf and bacon wrapped baked potato, while watching some Numbers before heading to GRC to talk with the teacher that I will be subbing for for the next week and a half.  I could not be more excited for the opportunity to get to be in one classroom for an extended period of time!  While all of those things are thing to be thankful for, those are not what I am dedicating todays Thankfully November post too.

Today my Thankfully November is all about the team I serve with at Student Impact at Quest.  While I have been on this team for a very short amount of time and I haven’t become super connected with yet, the Lord keeps confirming that I am in the right path of serving in my church.  God really used this team tonight, especially the teaching of Pastor Brad during our team meeting to show me that I am loved.  Tonight Pastor Brad taught about 1 Timothy 6:11-14, 20-21

But you, Timothy, are a man of God; so run from all these evil things. Pursue righteousness and a godly life, along with faith, love, perseverance, and gentleness. 12 Fight the good fight for the true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have declared so well before many witnesses. 13 And I charge you before God, who gives life to all, and before Christ Jesus, who gave a good testimony before Pontius Pilate, 14 that you obey this command without wavering. Then no one can find fault with you from now until our Lord Jesus Christ comes again.  

20 Timothy, guard what God has entrusted to you. Avoid godless, foolish discussions with those who oppose you with their so-called knowledge. 21 Some people have wandered from the faith by following such foolishness.

May God’s grace be with you all.

In the lesson we were asked many things including:

  • If I died/had to move away tomorrow, what do I want to be known for?
  • Is how people see me, how I want to be known?
  • What does it mean to run from evil things?
  • What do I need to run from in my life?
  • What does fighting the good fight look like for me?

All of these questions made me really think about where I am in my life (personally, spiritually, academically) and how I am striving to be the best me and the best representation of the Savior that I can be.  The last question I listed “What does fighting the good fight look like for me?” led me to share with the ladies at my table that fighting the good fight for me means putting Christ first and making sure I am spending time with Him, BUT ALSO to let people in to what is going on in my life.  It has been so easy, living in a new city, being in a new church, not having a consistent job, and not knowing many people to just let my struggles be struggles and push them aside or tell myself that they don’t matter, when THEY DO!

I left, feeling loved and knowing that I really do have a community of people that I can turn to and lean on that will support me through the good and the bad.

The Lord’s guidance with putting me in a team and helping me connect is so overwhelming.

I am so thankful today for the SI Team and Pastor Brad’s guidance! #givingthanks

Thankfully yours,

Kelsey Diane

Leave a Reply

