2014 is coming to an end…

…and it has been a whirlwind of a year. 2014 has brought lots of ups and downs, new things and old things, and changes galore. Here’s a short recap of what I saw in 2014…

*I started out the year planning a trip to Ukraine for July, which was cancelled a few months later because of the turmoil there.
*I started the second year of my Master’s program in Educational Counseling
*I was stuck in an airport overnight because of a crazy snow storm that hit Alabama of all places.
*I spent a crazy fun weekend with some high school girls for a church retreat – and received my first concussion because of it.
*I got to visit with my friends who live in Ukraine who came back to the states for a couple months because of the war raging there.
*I bought an iPad!
*I got to host Kelly in my home while she travelled into L-ville once a week for her seminary classes!
*I completed my first (and last) seminar as LSC.
*I watched my beautiful friend and mentor Emily get married.
*I started working out again and training for a half-marathon (only to fracture my foot and have to put that on hold for a few months).
*I spent many mornings and evenings by the pool, reading great books and soaking in the sun.
*I got to serve my friend Ashley as she got married!
*I helped plan and organize my roommates wedding and served as her wedding coordinator (which is something I love to do!).
*I flew to Texas for some TI fun (not complete without some plane crazy on both ends – I think I am doomed when flying in the country).
*I found out my dad had pancreatic cancer (he is doing well, but still in the middle of treatments).
*I went to Leadership Advance, which was a God send in more ways than one!
*I left the job at Panera that I held since my college graduation,
*I moved!!!
*I started a new and exciting project that is set to launch in the new year! (Stay tuned for more details on this and ways you can get involved!)
*I started teaching (as a substitute) and loved it! Which only confirmed my career path.
*I spent my first (official) weekend on the bourbon trail (since I grew up in the Bourbon capital, I had never actually travelled to distilleries with friends).
*I took my first personal vacation and trip to a beach on the Atlantic ocean (Virginia Beach).
*I celebrated my 25th birthday.
*I joined a new church and life group (that I love!)
*I started cross-stitching again!
*I participated in my first Bless a Stranger Christmas Swap.
*I put my personal story on the blog for the first time ever.
*I fell in love with books on tape (aka CDs now).
*I had an actual Christmas break that I spent at home with my family from near and far.
*I am spending my last few hours of the year and beginning of 2015 in class in Virginia.

While it has been a great year and I could not be more thankful for how the Lord provides, I am excited for the new year and all it has in store for me in my life.  It is sure to hold its ups and downs, but I am going to be clinging closer and closer to The Lord and planning for what is next!  Stay tuned, because one of my goals this year is to blog more this year and to include more meaningful posts and content for y’all to read!

Have a blessed New Year Y’all! Get ready for all The Lord has in store for you in 2015!

So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God.  There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

Hebrews 4:16 NLT

Grace & Peace,

Kelsey Diane

Leave a Reply

