Luke 22

During Lent I have been doing my daily bible study with She Reads Truth and their Lenten Devotionals.  Let me just tell you, they have been rocking my world!  If you have never heard of them or haven’t checked them out, DO IT (shereadstruth.com)!  The past two mornings, thier devos, and my study have been diving into Luke 22, and let me tell you, it is not for the faint of heart.  

I haven’t finished Luke 22, but so far what I have read has contained Satan coming into Judas, the preperation and institiution of the Lord’s Supper, an argument about who is the greatest, and Jesus praying very candid and honest prayers.

The Lord’s Supper is something that I have had some ups and downs with understanding and truly resting in over my lifespan.  As a child through high school, it felt like something I had to do, but only if I felt “clean” enough to let the Body and Blood touch my lips.  When I went to college and had a lifechanging experience with the Savior, my view changed.  The Bread and Wine were symbols to the Body and Blood and were now a way to remember him and join in with a community of believers to remember him.  In Luke 22:19, Jesus gives thanks and says, “Do this in remembrance of me.”  I truly pray that everyone who participates in communion in their local church body, isn’t restricted by their sins, past, other people, or life circumstances and is able to truly remember Christ as they partake of the bread and wine.  If Judas, who betrayed Jesus just mere verses later, and Peter, who doubted Christ more than once, were both allowed to take the bread and the cup in remembrance, then so can you and I, as christians who sin and fail Christ’s purpose daily.

While the passage on the Lord’s Supper is moving and touches me, the passage that has struck me the most is a little bit later in the passage.  Luke 22:39-46 is the passage I read this morning and one that made me stop in my tracks! I am going to include it here for reference for you:

Leaving there, he went, as he so often did, to Mount Olives.  The disciples followed him.  When they arrived at the place, he said, “Pray that you don’t give in to temptation.”  He pulled away from them about a stone’s throw, knelt down, and prayed, “Father, remove this cup from me. But please, not what I want.  What do you want?” At once an angel from heaven was at his side, strengthening him.  He prayed on all the harder. Sweat, wrung from him like drops of blood, poured off his face.  He got up from prayer, went back to the disciples and found them asleep, drugged by grief.  He said, “What business do you have sleeping?  Get up.  Ptay so you won’t give in to temptation.”
Luke 22:39-46 MSG

Like woah!  Not only did our Savior, ask his father to remove the cup (suffering) from him, but immediately said, but not my will, but YOUR will be done!  I don’t think I could do it!  In the face of death and taking on all of the sins of the world, Jesus, knowing that it was going to be hard and painful, submitted to the will of the Father, and was immediately strengthened by the presence of an angel.   In the hardest moment you have faced, have you ever prayed for it to be taken away?  I have, and let me tell you, the next words out of my mouth were never, not what I want, but what you want from me.  How much would we change and would our culture and the world change if we in moments of weakness said, “Do what you want Lord!” ?  I think a world would drastically change if we always gave permission and took our control away during the hard, gross, no fun, and life threatening ways.

I could go on and on about how God has been speaking to me through Luke 22 thie past couple of mornings, but I am going to leave it with what I have written here and give you a picture of my journaling bible from these verses.

So ask yourself, as I will be asking myself, ”How can I change the world, just by giving God permission and taking my control away?”

Grace & Peace,

Kelsey Diane

2 thoughts on “Luke 22

Leave a Reply

