Looking Back

Currently I should be writing a paper for grad school, but instead I am writing a blog and reflection on the past. So be prepared this could get a little ramble-y or long winded.

Fall is here, my favorite time of year!  Days like today take me back to Bowling Green and visits to Jackson’s Orchard for pumpkin picking, apple cider slushes and fun with friends.  I would love for a day to travel with a group of college friends for some fall fun.

I was also thinking today about how I graduated three years ago (in a couple months)! Crazy.  Seems like yesterday I was walking The Hill at WKU and spending my days in Tate Page & Cherry, hanging out at the BCM, making late night runs to GADS and surrounded by friends. I miss getting to pour my heart into the college life and having a community of friends all around me.  I miss cramming four girls into a tiny apartment with only one bathroom and dorm floods. I miss teaching family groups and Dgroups.  I miss going to football and basketball games and cheering on the TOPS!  I miss studying at baseball games, Spencers and the library.  I miss Mancinos, Griffs, Kyoto, Buckhead and Linzies!  I miss welcome retreat, FOCUS and road trips. I miss spring break and college mission trips.  I miss my jobs at the testing center and at LHBC.  I miss my small group of girls from LH and can’t believe that they are all freshman in college now!  There are days when I want to go back to college and enjoy it all over again.

Looking at pictures from my FFG kiddos who are Seniors in college and my Small Group girls who are Freshman in college I am blessed by all the Lord has taught me and the lives the Lord has let me pour into and has allowed to pour into me.  I am so blessed in the life I am in now and know that I will look back and reflect on this time in the years to come.

I am going to wrap this up although I could probably write all day about college and things of the past that I miss, but even though I miss the past, I love the present and am choosing to live here!

Leave a comment